Managing Security and Privacy Settings of Your Twitter Account

When you get to use Twitter, as well as any other social network, it is important to have your account as secure as it can be. Moreover, it is barely possible that you want to share your personal information with third people. In order to ensure the privacy and security of your account, you need to spend a little bit of your precious time on arranging your Twitter settings. We have tried to make this matter easier for you – regardless whether you are a beginner or an experienced user. So, make use of the article presented below as a guide for arranging Twitter settings.

Twitter settings

Click on the Twitter’s egg button, and then select “Settings” in order to strengthen the privacy and security of your account

Step 1. Open your browser and enter Twitter’s website.

Step 2. Sign in to the social network by using your email (or username) and password.

Step 3. Once you have logged in to Twitter, find the button in the shape of an egg, placed near the “Tweet button” in the right-upper corner. Click on it.

Step 4. In the menu, select “Settings.”

Step 5. You will see the page of general account settings. Leftside, there will be a menu of settings’ sections. You should select “Security and privacy.” There, you are able to manage the following settings:

Security

  • Login verification. If you enable this feature, you will receive the code onto your phone number, which you have to enter every time you log in to Twitter with an unrecognized device or browser. It is sure and obvious, however, that you need to provide your phone number first in order to enable this feature.
  • Password reset. Enable this feature, and you will be asked to provide personal information every time you try to reset the password.
  • Log in with code. By default, it allows you to enter either with a code, or a password. You can turn this feature off and authorize logging in only with the help of the password.
    Twitter settings 2

    As you can see, you have to arrange pretty much in the Twitter Settings of “Security and Privacy”

Privacy

  • Photo tagging. By default, Twitter allows anyone to tag you. You can opt to change it into “Only allow people I follow to tag me in photos” or “Do not allow anyone to tag me in photos.”
  • Tweet privacy. If you place a tick near “Protect my Tweets”, then your tweets will not be available to the public.
  • Tweet location. This feature enables to show your location when posting a tweet. If you click on the large “Delete location information”, the respective information will be deleted in all your tweets.
  • Discoverability. Here, you can let others find you with the help of the email or a phone number. Remove a tick in order to disable this feature.
  • Address Book. This is a link to contact book. Just click on the button in order to be redirected.
  • Personalization. If you turn this feature on, you will see the Twitter pages of those websites you have recently visited recommended to you.
  • Promoted content. The same feature as the previous one, but regarding the ads.
  • Twitter for teams. By default, anyone can add you into his/her/their team. Yet, you can change it by opting “Only allow people I follow to add me to their team” or “Do not allow anyone…”
  • Direct Messages. If you enable this feature, you will be able to receive messages from any user. If not, only from those whom you follow.

Step 6. Once you have finished arranging the settings, click on the blue “Save changes” button.

 

[Total: 0    Average: 0/5]